Volcanic Activity = Travel Inactivity

Wow. You all went to my blog in droves yesterday. Clearly you’re worried about my health and well-being and flight status as ash blankets most of western Europe, symbolically representing how so many people’s plans have gone up in flames.

Welp. Here’s the deal. RyanAir cancelled my flight back to London, which was scheduled for tomorrow afternoon. The company has very thoughtfully allowed me to rebook for Tuesday at no additional cost. So I’m coming back to London on Tuesday. Unless my flight is cancelled again, in which case I must brainstorm ways to get to Portugal, because I really don’t want to miss out on that trip entirely! Ideas and donations welcome.

Meanwhile, I’m staying with my great-great cousin’s wife, who speaks enough English for us to communicate relatively well–aided by an English/German dictionary. (I’m trying to learn some German, too.) We also both speak the language of food.

One response to “Volcanic Activity = Travel Inactivity

  1. You seem to be turning this whole experience into as positive a situation as possible. Kudos to you. In the end, it will all work out and in the meantime, enjoy what comes your way as a result of a series of unfortunate events.

    Who knew a volcano would have that degree of impact on world travel?

Leave a Reply

