Language Barrier

We have really everything in common with America nowadays except, of course, language.
– Oscar Wilde

I wish I wrote down all of the unfamiliar words I’ve heard people say since I’ve been here. But here’s a few words and phrases I’m learning to incorporate into my everyday vocabulary:

  • quite
  • cheeky
  • lovely
  • brilliant
  • wicked
  • loo
  • bin
  • bloke
  • letch (horny male)
  • pissed (drunk)
  • “could/might do”
  • “if it suits”
  • Muppet (a silly person)
  • wag (wife or girlfriend)

Feel free to add to the list!

One response to “Language Barrier

Leave a Reply

