In London

The North Kensington library closed at 5 p.m. today, so I had to leave work early to ensure that I would arrive in time to check out a book I need for class tomorrow.

As I ascended the stairs of the tube station, it began to rain. I was wearing white flats (should’ve minded that rule about Labor Day) and the only really, really long pants I own. In my mind, I had a general idea of where the library was and a determination to not buy another book.

Needless to say, I never even found the library. Then I walked home to the sound of cold, bare feet squelching in wet canvas shoes and with the pleasant feeling of puddles infiltrating up my pant legs, courtesy of capillary action.

Fortunately for me, today’s events occurred in London. Adding in London to the end of my numerous complaints minimizes their significance. I almost got frost bite… in London. I look like an unprepared idiot in class… in London. I am cold… in London.

Suddenly, great burdens are lifted off of my shoulders as I remember that I want to be in London. I am in London. If ever there was a time in my life where I should embrace every moment of my day, it’s in these five months. In London.

4 responses to “In London

  1. You are such a great writer, Meghan. I’m sorry you couldn’t find the library but the story is terrific. I felt the same way about London….loved it. It’s so different from any place here in the states and just so British. It may be old and dirty (in places), but it’s also quaint and historic. Have a great time there…and take lots of pics. Have you had mushy peas yet?
    love, jeanne

  2. Sorry about the wet feet, but I always thought London and Seattle had that drizzle thing going on.
    Do you share your Mom’s directional impairment gene? If so, the road will be longer for you than most, but who knows you may find some neat nooks and crannies along the way. : )

  3. Very eloquent! Just think… Samuel Johnson probably almost got frostbite on those very streets.

  4. Haha! I know what you mean.
    The only place where I don’t mind the rain and the cold is in London. 🙂

Leave a Reply

