Miss America: Part 3

I miss:

American measuring cups, spoons, and, of course, my KitchenAid mixer.  “Cups” isn’t even a thing here! So 2 and 1/4 cups of flour is practically meaningless! Furthermore, I hate being forced to convert all of my recipe measurements to grams, especially when one stick of butter here is the equivalent of two + a wee bit extra in America and I have to figure out where to make the cut. I feel like Paula Deen, goddess of butter, was watching over my shoulder today and making mental notes on my sometimes pathetic performance.

Also, I miss chocolate chips that come in large bags. To avoid spending at least £5 on three separate 100-gram packages of chocolate chips, I purchased a large milk chocolate Cadbury bar, took it home, and hammered the thing to smithereens. Tada! Chocolate chips, the old-fashioned and significantly more time-consuming way. That’s how the chocolate chip cookie was invented, though. See here.

In any case, while the end product possessed an ideal balance of soft middle and chewy rim, I didn’t particularly enjoy relearning an art I thought I’d already mastered just because the rulebook changed. It’s like that time I won the 8th grade spelling bee, but lost early in a second “just-for-fun” competition that required us to spell words backwards. Cruel and unnecessary and not fun. Fortunately for all parties involved, I am resilient in the face of adversity and can still hold my own in the respective worlds of spelling and baking.

I don’t miss:

chocolate made in America.

2 responses to “Miss America: Part 3

  1. …and you never will. The other thing I didn’t miss was bread made in America.

  2. whats wrong with american chocolate?! lol. and im real sorry england doesnt have cups. thats dumb haha

Leave a Reply

