The Formula for Sadness

According to countless articles I read today, this formula is meant to explain the reason for today, Blue Monday, being the most depressing day of the year:


weather=W, debt=d, time since Christmas=T, time since failing our new year’s resolutions=Q, low motivational levels=M and the feeling of a need to take action=Na. ‘D’ is not defined, but I think it stands for the number of days I’ve been out of the country, and they feel like a lot.

On a more positive note, classes started. Finally. Then again, I have no Monday classes, which means classes start tomorrow. Oh wait, and did I mention that I only have class on Tuesday and Thursday? Because I do. And I just purchased a ticket to visit Stratford-upon-Avon in two weeks’ time, to hang out with the Bard’s ghost.

Unfortunately, I still agree with Karen Carpenter. Some Mondays get me down, and my formula for happiness (classes two times a week + weekend trip + being in London + friends) can’t seem to make the negatives positive. So I guess for now, I equal zero.

One response to “The Formula for Sadness

  1. Hi, You’ll love Stratford-on-Avon…Bob and I were there in 1996/7. We saw Shakespeare’s home and other quaint sites there and the river is neat, too. If you get a chance, go to York in Northern England…you’d like that, too. Lots of history. I think there’s a train from London to York.
    Take care, Sweetie…we’re proud of you and enjoy your classes!

Leave a Reply

